Happy Wednesday

Wednesday at work are notorious for just … well, Murphy’s Law.

Today was bad and I wish I could say it was all work.

I woke up at 4am this morning after having slept since 4pm yesterday. I came home straight from work and went straight to bed. I’m lucky I locked my front door and plugged in my phone. No Facebook, no texts. Nothing.

First thing I saw was that my dear friend Ninjamin’s mother had ceased to be with us yesterday morning. Instantly, I felt bad not not staying up long enough to convey my condolences. I know they understand that people have lives and shit but I always feel like shit. It’s my bag. So, I cried through my shower and then got my shit together. I had to get through work. Then my newsfeed fed this video to me.

It was just what I needed. Laurel St James and Ninjamin would agree. I’ve shared it with everyone at work who geeks over this stuff like I do.

So, while fishing around at work for a ride to the memorial gathering on Friday, I was blindsided for the second day in a row. I do have to back up a few days for this.

Saturday morning, I was the first supervisor in the door. My other supe was late getting in and my assistant manager was also a bit late. Not unusual. Only this morning I had several people asking me where they were supposed to sit as their work stations were being moved. I had no clue this was happening. I had to sit through 45 mins of this before anyone could arrive to tell me what I had missed on my days off.

Monday, I was told, no we aren’t doing that yet. Just as long as it happens by Wednesday. Okay.

Tuesday. 9:35 am, I get Gloria¬†telling me that my assistant manager was looking for me. ODD. Because 1) he’s off on Tuesday, 2) the manager was in the office and he knew where I was (as I had just left his office to return to my post) and 3) my cell phone was on the desk and it hadn’t rung. He rattles off a bunch of information about the phone changeover that is happening at 10am. I look at the clock again. I got 25 minutes notice on a multi-pod change over WITH intent to move the workstations I mentioned earlier. I argue that I can’t move the workstations as we were still going through the rush. And he gave me a band-aid solution that would work.

I get ready. I tell everyone in the workstations affected what was going to happen as I write it down on a post-it in a shorthand that only I can read. I tell my boss. He doesn’t know about most of this. I tell him I’ll handle it but I can’t let anyone in my workstation go to lunch until it’s done. Then IT walks in and his plan is different. I relay what I was told. We make it work. I let him know that I will physically move the people at shift change to prevent the most amount of havoc.

Sigh. Took 30 minutes to make sure everything was changed over as planned. Held me up from my main job for 30 minutes. Keep dispatchers from taking their lunches for 30 minutes.

Then the dispatchers who had to change their stations tell me they’re ready to move because they’ve had a lull in calls. I give up. I tell them to one at a time log out, then log in at the new station then call the old station to notify they were ready for the next person. It takes 20 minutes. I supervise.

Sigh.

So, today. Today. 9:40am. I get a call hold that my assistant manager, who is not at work today, has more things for me to do. More things that my manager doesn’t know about. This is after our training coordinator, a woman on the edge of a meltdown at all times, has come crying to me that she doesn’t know what’s going on and that she needs me to teach her how to dispatch out of the new system. She’s been our training coordinator for six months. Six months. She’s training our people how to dispatch but doesn’t know how to dispatch out of our new system. So when the asst mod calls with instructions for change over at 10am… I’m livid. I storm around connecting phones and finding there are no cords for handsets and no cords for the junctions. I find my manager and I let him have it.

Now, to be fair, the asst mod asked if he should come in. I told him no. I didn’t want to see him. I could, in theory, handle the change over. But, I got dispatchers crying they were getting calls for the training class. Now, while true, the training class wasn’t in the station to take those calls and they were calls that were supposed to be taken. I let them have it. When my manager heard all my frustrations, he asked if he should call the asst mod in. I said no, I could handle it. THEN, I remembered I was doing lunch checkouts and I couldn’t do it if I was babysitting phones for a change over. So, he called in the asst mod and I told my Manager that I was going back to the floor and to do my job and if I saw the asst mod, I would punch him in the face. He said that was fine.

I managed to get through the next hour and a half without any contact with the asst mod while I did my job, taking calls, checking in and out and sitting for lunches were needed. Then he tried to talk to me. I couldn’t. I gave him my legit complaints unrelated the phone thing and I began a discussion with my immediate podmate about the above video. That seemed to get him out of the room. He knows he’s in deep shit. Manager and Onboarding manager and I all had a discussion about the situation. I’m fine helping with these things… when I have proper notice. We’re short on dispatchers and it’s a short day as far as supervisors go. There’s 3 of us on a Wednesday. If one of us has to take a lunch to get the other’s lunch, we’re super short. It also happened to be a day when Miranda had a family emergency so she had to take her phone outside several times. So, I was running the floor. We had worked out our dynamic early in the day to account for Miranda’s family needs and Gloria’s blood sugar needs. Had I the information about the changeover in a proper timeframe, we could have managed it differently.

THEN, I had to find with Miranda about shift change. We’re under a no overtime mandate. Our folks have to leave at the appointed time and the new crew has to be logged in. I was yelling at the dispatcher to get up to let the next crew in and Miranda is yelling at me that they still had work to do. This was also true. Here’s the thing. When a company has shift change, there are things you can and cannot do.

EX: If you’re at Walmart and your cashier is leaving shift, she cannot start ringing up a customer and leave. She has to finish her exchange and then pull her drawer. The next person can then put his drawer in and take the next customer. The first cashier does not have to take the entire line.

Similarly if you work at Whataburger, if you take a person’s order, you do have to complete the transaction BUT you do not have to be the one to hand the customer their meal. That CAN be the next shift person.

So, I’m saying that we have two people who have to vacate, a third who has to stay and two people to take the empty chairs. If the calls are entered, our folks CAN get up. It’s bad form but if the boss says leave, you leave. The next folks will have to complete the calls.

I was checking out with my boss when Miranda came in and started bitching to our manager. I’d already run him down on the situation and so I was within my rights to do what I did. She continued to bitch so long, I missed my ride. Then as I was leaving, she had the gall to be sweet and thank me for my assistance… like I’m her assistant. I’m her fucking superior. By a week, but still.

I found another ride home, thankfully. I’ve had my identity stolen so I’m in the process of changing my everything. The ride was important so I could cash my check and pay my rent and my sister’s car insurance. Luckily, I had old magazines and a pair of too small jeans. I gave all for a ride to get my stuff done. Fuckin’ ruins your day.

Silver lining: I have my ride to the memorial, I get to spend time with my Denton Mommy before the gathering. We’re going drinking tomorrow night. AND I get to watch the above video over and over until I’m not mad or sad and can sleep.

Fuck work. Fuck overtime. I’m sleeping in tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

